COURS DE CIVILISATION
FRANÇAISE DE LA SORBONNE

Excellence in teaching French as a foreign language

Search a course

Discover the CCFS

The Cours de Civilisation Française de la Sorbonne (CCFS) depend on the Robert-de-Sorbon Foundation, recognized as being of public utility since 2009. Its main mission is to contribute to the influence of French culture around the world through the teaching of civilization and French as a foreign language. Created in 1919, the CCFS today have century-old expertise and constitute a renowned institution dedicated to French as a foreign language (France langue Etrangère, FLE).

Mainly attended initially by an American public, the CCFS today brings together nearly 160 nationalities with a strong presence of the Chinese, American, German, English, Brazilian, Korean, Spanish, Japanese, Polish, Russian and Swedish nations. Around 5,000 students attend the establishment annually.

Testimonials

Louis-Jean Fesquet

Professor of practical courses and French civilization…

Liliana Forero

Student at CCFS
“I like the courses offered by the Cours de Civilisation Française de la Sorbonne…”

Vester Smith

Vester, a student from Arkansas, USA, tells us more about his experience with the Cours de civilisation française de la Sorbonne. 

A Reference Institution since 1919

FLE quality label

Français Langue Etrangère – French as a Foreign Language – Quality label awarded 3 stars to the CCFS (maximum score)

A century-old expertise

The CCFS rely on on an original and rigorous pedagogy, combining French language courses, phonetics and civilization conferences.

An exceptional study environment

Located in the heart of the 7th arrondissement of Paris, the CCFS welcome students in the superb Vogüé hotel.

State-of-the-art educational equipment

The institution is equipped with the latest technologies (interactive boards, latest generation LMS, connected phonetics laboratory, etc.).

Optimal class numbers

Based on language structures and interactivity, CCFS pedagogy requires small numbers.
Indicative average numbers:
Intensive and phonetics courses: 10
Language courses: 14

+160 nationalities

Since 1919, the CCFS have trained nearly 500,000 students from more than 160 different nationalities.

Academic Expertise

étudiants CCFS

All lessons taught within the Cours de Civilisation Française de la Sorbonne meet the requirements of the Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR).

Language courses take place in small groups led by qualified and experienced teachers. They allow you to acquire progressive mastery of French in all its components, both written and spoken. An approach to literary texts is also proposed.

Phonetics courses taking place in laboratories are specific to different mother tongues, their goal being to improve pronunciation, comprehension and oral expression. Teachers specializing in applied linguistics have students work individually in a language laboratory.

Conferences related to French civilization conferences designed by eminent specialists allow students to deepen their knowledge of French society and culture, while perfecting their oral understanding of the French language.

Prestigious Academic Partnerships

The institution offers several partnerships with other higher education establishments, as well as preparatory classes that enable students to join these partner establishments. These prestigious agreements stand out for the quality of their education and correspond to a unique offering in the FLE (French as a Foreign Language) market.

The CCFS also have agreements with numerous international universities and welcome hundreds of international students from these partnerships each year. The institution also maintains close relations with cultural offices or education departments of foreign embassies in France, a joint work which reinforces the effectiveness of the linguistic and cultural lessons offered within the framework of the CCFS.

Live in Paris

Discovering Paris as an international student is often an unforgettable experience. The City of Lights, with its rich history, vibrant culture and delicious cuisine, offers an exciting adventure for students from all over the world.

Blog & News

CCFS

International students: why studying French at the CCFS ?

A century dedicated to teaching French The Cours de Civilisation Française de la Sorbonne (CCFS) were created in 1919 as part of the Robert de Sorbon Foundation, a non-profit association recognized as being of public utility. The institution thus has over a hundred years of experience in the teaching and

Read more
Discover Paris

Discover Paris through French literature: your reading guide.

Bel-Ami (Maupassant) In the novel “Bel-Ami” written by Guy de Maupassant, readers are transported to 19th century Paris. The author describes Parisian life in detail, its lively streets, its fashionable salons, and its contrasting neighborhoods.                               

Read more
Learn French

Learn French by immersing yourself in French-speaking culture

Cultural discovery as an element of language learning Language and culture, an inseparable link When you set out to learn a foreign language, it’s not just about acquiring language skills, but also about immersing yourself in the culture that accompanies it. France is famous for its cultural wealth, which extends

Read more
Caroline, professeur aux CCFS

Interview Caroline

Interview with Caroline Hénaut Hello, my name is Caroline Hénaut. What is your professional background? “I have been a teacher of French as a Foreign Language at the CCFS for almost 25 years, and I must say that it’s a true joy. We meet students from all around the world,

Read more

Le secrétariat sera exceptionnellement fermé le mercredi 17 janvier.

The secretariat will be exceptionally closed on Wednesday, January 17th. 

Information sur la session de printemps 2024

L’inscription à la session de printemps (rentrée du 5 février 2024) est encore possible jusqu’au 2 février, sous réserve de places disponibles.

Les étudiants souhaitant s’inscrire sont invités à se rendre directement au bureau des admissions de l’institution, ouvert du lundi au vendredi de 9h30 à 16h30.
Ils doivent s’assurer de disposer d’un visa valide.

L’inscription en ligne pour cette session n’est plus possible sur ce site.

Information regarding the 2024 spring session

Registration for the spring session (starting on February 5, 2024) is still possible until February 2, subject to availability.

Students wishing to register are invited to go directly to the institution’s admission office, open Monday to Friday from 9.30am to 4.30pm.
They must ensure they have a valid visa.

Online registration for this session is no longer available on this website.

Dates des prochains examens TCF

Les prochaines sessions d’examen TCF auront lieu dans les locaux de l’institution aux dates suivantes :

Le 30 janvier et le 27 février :

TCF TP SOS’INSCRIRE
TCF TP SO
+ épreuve orale
S’INSCRIRE
TCF TP SO
+ épreuve écrite
S’INSCRIRE
TCF TP SO completS’INSCRIRE

Le 31 janvier et le 28 février :

TCF IRNS’INSCRIRE

COURS DE CIVILISATION
FRANÇAISE DE LA SORBONNE

L’excellence dans l’enseignement du français langue étrangère.

Trouver un cours

Découvrir les CCFS

Les Cours de civilisation française de la Sorbonne (CCFS) dépendent de la fondation Robert-de-Sorbon, reconnue d’utilité publique depuis 2009. La mission de cette institution est de contribuer au rayonnement de la culture française à travers le monde par l’enseignement de la civilisation et de la langue françaises comme langue étrangère. Créés en 1919, les CCFS disposent aujourd’hui d’une expertise centenaire et constituent une institution de renom dédiée au français langue étrangère (FLE).

Fréquentés surtout à l’origine par un public américain, les CCFS regroupent aujourd’hui près de 160 nationalités avec une présence prépondérante des nations chinoise, américaine, allemande, anglaise, brésilienne, coréenne, espagnole, japonaise, polonaise, russe et suédoise. Environ 5000 étudiants fréquentent annuellement l’institution.

Témoignages

Louis-Jean Fesquet

Professeur de cours pratiques et de civilisation française de la Sorbonne…

Liliana Forero

Étudiante aux CCFS
«J’aime les cours aux CCFS qui me donnent l’occasion d’échanger et de partager avec beaucoup d’étudiants internationaux…»

Caroline Hénaut

Professeure de Français Langue Étrangère aux CCFS depuis presque 25 ans…

Une institution de référence depuis 1919

Label qualité FLE

Le label Qualité français langue étrangère a décerné 3 étoiles aux CCFS (note maximum)

Expertise pédagogique de référence

Les CCFS s’appuient sur une pédagogie originale et rigoureuse, articulant cours de langue française, phonétique et conférences de civilisation.

Un cadre d’études exceptionnel

Situés au coeur du 7e arrondissement de Paris, les CCFS accueillent les étudiants dans le superbe hôtel de Vogüé.

Des équipements pédagogiques de pointe

L’institution est équipée des dernières technologies (tableaux interactifs, LMS dernière génération, laboratoire de phonétique connecté…).

Des effectifs en classe adaptés

Fondée sur les structures de la langue et l’interactivité, la pédagogie des CCFS exige des effectifs réduits.
Effectifs moyens indicatifs :
cours intensifs et phonétique : 10
cours de langue : 14

+160 nationalités

Depuis 1919, les CCFS ont formé près de 500 000 étudiants provenant de plus 160 nationalités différentes.

Expertise pédagogique

Expertise pédagogique​

Les enseignements dispensés aux Cours de civilisation française de la Sorbonne répondent aux exigences du Cadre Européen Commun de Référence (CECR).

Les cours de langue se déroulent en petits groupes tenus par des professeurs qualifiés et expérimentés. Ils permettent d’acquérir la maîtrise progressive du français dans toutes ses composantes, tant à l’écrit qu’à l’oral. Une approche des textes littéraires est également proposée.

Les cours de phonétique avec laboratoire sont des cours spécifiques aux différentes langues maternelles et qui visent à améliorer la prononciation, la compréhension et l’expression orales. Les professeurs spécialistes de linguistique appliquée accompagnent et font travailler individuellement les étudiants dans un laboratoire de langue.

Les conférences de civilisation française préparées par d’éminents spécialistes permettent aux étudiants d’approfondir leurs connaissances sur la société et la culture françaises, tout en perfectionnant la compréhension orale de la langue française.

De prestigieux partenariats académiques

L’institution propose plusieurs partenariats avec d’autres établissements d’enseignement supérieur, ainsi que des classes préparatoires qui permettent d’intégrer ces établissements partenaires. Ces accords prestigieux se distinguent par la qualité de leurs enseignements et correspondent à une offre unique sur le marché du FLE.

 

Les CCFS nouent également des accords avec de nombreuses universités internationales et accueillent chaque année des centaines d’étudiants internationaux issus de ces partenariats. L’établissement entretient également d’étroites relations avec les bureaux culturels ou les services éducation des ambassades étrangères en France, un travail commun qui renforce l’efficacité des enseignements linguistiques et culturels proposés dans le cadre des CCFS.

Vivre à Paris

Découvrir Paris quand on est étudiant international est une expérience souvent inoubliable. La Ville Lumière, avec son histoire riche, sa culture vibrante et sa cuisine délicieuse, offre une aventure passionnante pour les étudiants venus du monde entier.

Blog et actualités

Cours du soir - classe vide

Les cours du soir aux CCFS

Apprendre le français en cours du soir présente de nombreux avantages, en particulier pour les adultes étrangers désireux de maîtriser cette langue. Que ce soit pour des raisons professionnelles, académiques ou personnelles, suivre des cours de français le soir offre une flexibilité précieuse qui permet aux apprenants de concilier leurs

Lire la suite
Le Marias (SoMa), a district combining culture, entertainment and fashion

Le Marais (SoMa), un quartier mêlant culture, animation et mode

    Le Marais, quartier emblématique de Paris dans le quatrième arrondissement, est en quelques sortes une véritable « enclave » historique et culturelle qui incarne à la fois le charme médiéval de la ville et sa modernité vibrante. Situé dans le centre de la capitale française, le Marais – également appelé

Lire la suite
Destination à 2h de Paris

Les 5 destinations françaises à moins de 2h de Paris

    La France regorge de merveilles accessibles en peu de temps depuis Paris. Que ce soit pour une escapade le temps d’un week-end ou une petite pause lors d’un voyage d’affaires, les Cours de Civilisation Française de la Sorbonne vous présentent cinq destinations françaises facilement accessibles en moins de

Lire la suite
Des élèves dans une salle de classe

Qu’est ce qu’un cours intensif ?

Fondements et objectifs du cours intensif Les cours intensifs représentent une approche pédagogique souvent immersive visant à accélérer le processus d’apprentissage, en particulier dans le domaine linguistique. Ce type de formation se distingue par sa concentration élevée en heures d’enseignement par jour, souvent compressées sur une période relativement courte. L’apprentissage

Lire la suite

INFORMATION

Le secrétariat sera exceptionnellement fermé le jeudi 6 juin.

The secretariat will be exceptionally closed on Thursday, June 6. 

Information sur la session de printemps 2024

L’inscription à la session de printemps (rentrée du 5 février 2024) est encore possible jusqu’au 2 février, sous réserve de places disponibles.

Les étudiants souhaitant s’inscrire sont invités à se rendre directement au bureau des admissions de l’institution, ouvert du lundi au vendredi de 9h30 à 16h30.
Ils doivent s’assurer de disposer d’un visa valide.

L’inscription en ligne pour cette session n’est plus possible sur ce site.

Information regarding the 2024 spring session

Registration for the spring session (starting on February 5, 2024) is still possible until February 2, subject to availability.

Students wishing to register are invited to go directly to the institution’s admission office, open Monday to Friday from 9.30am to 4.30pm.
They must ensure they have a valid visa.

Online registration for this session is no longer available on this website.

Dates des prochains examens TCF

Les prochaines sessions d’examen TCF auront lieu dans les locaux de l’institution aux dates suivantes :

Le 30 janvier et le 27 février :

TCF TP SOS’INSCRIRE
TCF TP SO
+ épreuve orale
S’INSCRIRE
TCF TP SO
+ épreuve écrite
S’INSCRIRE
TCF TP SO completS’INSCRIRE

Le 31 janvier et le 28 février :

TCF IRNS’INSCRIRE